Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering

NRE 8011/8012 and MP 6011/6012 Seminar

Nuclear & Radiological Engineering and Medical Physics Programs


Idaho National Laboratory: Creating the Next-Generation National Reactor Testing Station


Dr. John Wagner


Associate Laboratory Director for the Nuclear Science and Technology Directorate at Idaho National Laboratory (INL)


Thursday, March 15, 2018 at 11:00:00 AM


Boggs Building, Room 3-47


Farzad Rahnema


In 1949, an 890-square-mile site in eastern Idaho was designated as the National Reactor Testing Station, which is now the Idaho National Laboratory (INL). Over the years, more than 50 unique nuclear reactors were built and operated in support of advancing nuclear energy, with four reactors operating currently. Today, boosted by substantial and growing interest in advanced nuclear energy systems, the mission of developing and demonstrating advanced nuclear technologies and systems continues and evolves. With unique facilities, infrastructure, and core capabilities in the areas of reactor systems design and analysis, fuel cycle technologies, nuclear fuels and materials, static and transient irradiation testing, and modeling and simulation, INL is poised to establish the next-generation national reactor testing station. Through the Gateway for Innovation in Nuclear (GAIN), these capability assets are being made available to the nuclear industry and universities. The seminar will provide an overview of the INL nuclear capabilities, facilities, R&D activities, current areas of focus, and vision for the future. The seminar will begin with a brief overview of the laboratory and conclude with a review of internship and other opportunities at INL.


Dr. John C. Wagner is the Associate Laboratory Director for the Nuclear Science and Technology Directorate at Idaho National Laboratory (INL). He has more than 20 years of experience performing research and managing and leading research and development projects, programs, and organizations. Wagner received a B.S. in nuclear engineering from the Missouri University of Science and Technology in 1992 and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the Pennsylvania State University in 1994 and 1997, respectively. Wagner is a Fellow of the American Nuclear Society and recipient of the 2013 E. O. Lawrence Award. He has authored or co-authored more than 170 refereed journal and conference articles, technical reports, and conference summaries.


Meet the speaker