Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering

COE/Structural Mechanics Seminar


Probing Materials' Properties and Reliability at the Micron Scale and the Need for New Experiments


Dr. Christoph Eberl


The Institute for Applied Materials,Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, Germany


Friday, March 9, 2012 at 11:00:00 AM


MRDC Building, Room 4211


Olivier Pierron


Although nanotechnology is just around the corner, nowadays high-tech applications are structured on a sub-micrometer to millimeter level. In that regime we find a plethora of size, scaling and frequency effects which constrain the active defect mechanisms and govern the materialsí behavior. This talk will focus on past and ongoing experiments of how to probe the underlying defect mechanisms in fatigued thin films, nanostructured and micro-molded materials. Results from uniaxial loading, crack propagation, and fatigue experiments will be presented. The experiments will also be discussed in the light of the necessary developments of new techniques and analyzing tools and methods.


Christoph Eberl received the Diplom-Engineer degree (Masters equivalent) and the Ph.D. degree (with distinction) from the University of Stuttgart, Stuttgart, Germany, in 2001 and 2004, respectively. In 2001, he was with the group of Prof. E. Arzt at the Max Planck Institute for Metals Research, Stuttgart. He was a Postdoc with the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, until 2007 with K. J. Hemker and W. N. Sharpe. He is currently an Independent Group Leader at the Institute for Applied Materials, at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, Germany. He is also 'Invited Visiting Scientistí at the Johns Hopkins University. His past and current research focuses on the relationship of mechanical properties and reliability of material (systems) and their underlying microstructure on the micro- and nanoscale. Dr. Eberl received the Otto-Hahn medal of the Max Planck Society for young scientists in 2005 and a Max Planck stipend in 2006. He was awarded an Independent Group Leader Award by the German Science Foundation (DFG) in 2007 and received an Attract Group Award from the Fraunhofer Society in 2011.


Meet the speaker